Simulation

Quantifying GST/HST & QST paid on employees' expenses per year

You may want to assess how much tax your organization is paying on employees' expenses. Is your organization exposed to a meaningful tax risk on employees' expenses? Below is a simulation of an organization that has reimbursed to its employees supplies where 10% were incurred outside Canada. As for the supplies incurred in Canada, 90% are taxable supplies, other than zero rated supplies within the following 4 provinces.

GST, HST & QST paid by an organization on employees expenses per year

Jurisdiction Employees Expenses (%) $ 1 Million of Supplies Combined GST, HST & QST Rate Canada VAT Paid (90% taxable supplies)
Alberta 15% $ 150,000 5% $ 6,750
Ontario 40% $ 400,000 13% $ 46,800
Quebec 25% $ 250,000 14.975% $ 33,694
Nova Scotia 10% $ 100,000 15% $ 13,500
Outside Canada 10% $ 100,000 0% $ 0
Total 100% $1,000,000   $100,744

So in this example for each $1,000,000 of employees' expenses, there is approximately $100K of taxes to manage.

Generally, for a large business that is a GST and a QST registrant and exclusively engaged in commercial activities these taxes are:

  • Fully recoverable (i.e. office supplies)
  • Partially recoverable (i.e. 50% or 80% on some meals)
  • Not recoverable (i.e. tax on insurance premium)
  • Remittable (i.e. RITC on specified property and services in Prince Edward Island)
  • QST partly recoverable on expenses covered by the restricted ITR such as KM allowance, from January 1st, 2018 to December 31, 2020

For this QST gradual elimination of the restricted input tax refund, at the rate of 25% In 2018, 50% in 2019, 75% in 2020 and 100% thereafter, this tax policy represents a major spending for the Government of Quebec. Within the 2017-2018 budget of the government of Quebec, it is indicated that this measure will cost $22 million for the financial year 2017-2018, $115 million for the financial year 2018-2019, $220 million for the financial year 2019-2020 and $336 million for the financial year 2020-2021.

The QST recovery by large businesses due to the phasing out of restricted input tax credits on expenses such as meal & entertainment, km allowance, gas for vehicles of less than 3000 kg, vehicles of less than 3000 kg, telecommunication and energy is substantial. Advataxes is an employee expense software designed notably to recover QST on the phasing out of restricted ITR on reimbursement of expenses and allowances paid to employees.

Last updated on October 24, 2018

Simulation

Combien de taxes sont payées annuellement sur les dépenses des employés?

Il peut être utile de déterminer combien de taxes votre organisation paie annuellement sur les dépenses des employés. Votre organisation est-elle sujette à un risque fiscal significatif sur les dépenses des employés ? Ci-dessous est une simulation d'une organisation qui a remboursé à ses employés des fournitures où 10% ont été encourues à l'extérieur du Canada. En ce qui a trait aux fournitures encourues au Canada, 90% sont des fournitures taxables, autre que détaxées dans les 4 provinces ci-dessous.

TPS, TVH & TVQ payées annuellement par une organization sur les dépenses de ses employés

Jurisdiction Dépenses des employés $1 million de fournitures Taux combiné de TPS, TVH & TVQ TVA CAN payées (90% fournitures taxables)
Alberta 15% $ 150,000 5% $ 6,750
Ontario 40% $ 400,000 13% $ 46,800
Québec 25% $ 250,000 14.975% $ 33,694
Nouvelle-Écosse 10% $ 100,000 15% $ 13,500
Extérieur du Canada 10% $ 100,000 0% $ 0
Total 100% $ 1,000,000   $ 100,744

Ainsi dans cet exemple pour chaque $1, 000,000 de dépenses des employés, il y a environ $100K de taxes à gérer.

Généralement, pour une grande entreprise inscrite à la TPS et à la TVQ et ayant acquises ses fournitures exclusivement dans le cadre d'activités commerciales, ces taxes sont :

  • Entièrement recouvrable (ex. fournitures de bureau)
  • Partiellement recouvrable (ex. 50% ou 80% sur certains repas)
  • Non recouvrable (ex. taxe sur les primes d’assurance)
  • À remettre (ex. RCTI sur les biens et services déterminés à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard
  • TVQ - partiellement recouvrable sur les dépenses couvertes par les RTI restreints, telles les allocations de kilométrage, du 1er janvier 2018 au 31 décembre 2020

En ce qui a trait au retrait graduel en TVQ des RTI restreints au taux de 25% en 2018, 50% en 2019, 75% en 2020 et 100% par après, cette politique fiscale représente une dépense majeure pour le gouvernement du Québec. A l’intérieur du budget du gouvernement du Québec 2017- 2018, on indique que cette mesure coûtera $22 millions pour l’année financière 2017-2018, $115 millions pour l’année financière 2018-2019, $220 millions pour l’année financière 2019-2020 et $336 millions pour l‘année financière 2020-2021.

La récupération additionnelle de la TVQ par les grandes entreprises sur les dépenses telles les repas et divertissements, les allocations de km, le carburant pour les véhicules de moins de 3000 kg, les véhicules de moins de 3000 kg, les télécommunications et l’énergie, est substantielle. Advataxes est un logiciel sur les compte de dépense conçu pour récupérer notamment la TVQ sur le retrait graduel des RTI restreints sur les remboursements de dépenses et les allocations octroyés aux employés.

Dernière mise à jour le 24 Octobre 2018